Baby Gizmo

Tonight I successfully used an until-now-I-thought-was-pointless baby gizmo. If you are a New Mamma…you know what I’m talking about: one of the million and one doodads of infant apparatus they make you register for (or end up buying yourself) at Babies R’ Us, Costco, or some other babystuff-carrying superstore.

My husband had to work some extra hours tonight, so after work, it was just me and the baby. Normally my husband and I would take turns if, let’s say, one of us needed to cook, get on the computer, pay bills, or do another task that could not involve the little one. Well, tonight, I had to pee. Badly. And on this night when it was just me and the baby for a couple of hours, I learned to use the little Bumbo seat so the baby can join me in the bathroom while I do my business. I don’t know why I didn’t think of that before! The seat was loaned to me by a co-worker, whose daughter has since outgrown the barely used little throne. The thing has sat unused on top of a once elegant storage armoire in our dining room, now occupied by a swing, bounce-a-bout, high chair, and car seat. I even talked to my co-worker today about soon returning some of the items she’s loaned, including the Bumbo, as my baby has either outgrown them, or has moved on to graduated gear. In my desperation to pee, I considered a few things: leave the baby in his crib while I take the baby monitor, put the baby in his bounce-a-bout, or leave the baby in the high chair. I did not resort to any of these, afraid that if I leave the baby anywhere for even two seconds, I swear something will happen to him. So then comes in the Bumbo, already just packed in a big paper bag ready to be returned to its loaner. I took the thing with one hand, baby on the other, and together the three of us marched into the commode. I placed the seat on my red bathroom rug, secured the baby with the seat tray, and then finally went about and did my business. All that work for two minutes of relief! Needless to say, I will not be returning that Bumbo any time soon.

We found good use today for that chair =)

Comment on this post

