Gift Ideas for a Two-Year-Old

I am all for wish lists. It saves gift-givers the time, money and frustration of having to think of what to get that special someone, whether it be for a birthday, anniversary, Christmas or other special occasion, AND it ensures the receiver of the gift will absolutely LIKE/LOVE/WANT that gift! No wasted energy. No wasted money. No wasted stuff. Completely practical. In the words of Ron and Hermione…it’s “BRILLIANT!”

I wish my family gave me a list of what they want during birthdays and Christmases especially. Before I had Miggz I enjoyed taking the time hunting for the perfect gift (or set of gifts). The time factored into the thought made for the value, the sentimentality of the gift itself. It’s the thought that counts, after all, right?

Unfortunately over the years I’ve come to the realization that it’s not always the thought that counts. People like gifts that fit into their style, their persona…gifts they can look at…gifts they can flat-out use. There’s only a few, few people out there who subscribe to “it’s the thought that counts.”

And unfortunately too, unless you think of what to get someone months and months in advance, there is just no time anymore to hunt for that perfect gift.

Since we moved to Arizona I’ve tried to instill the practice of creating wish lists in my family (to some raised eyebrows, I bet). I feel like this concept is still new to them, even to my dear hubby. I can hear him lecturing me now…”you should be happy with whatever anyone gives you.” I know that. But happy doesn’t always equate with things that don’t fit, things that are not your style, and things that end up in the bottom of the drawer, the garage or in storage.

So yeah…I am ALL FOR WISH LISTS. Compile one throughout the year. Create them with all budgets in mind. And hand them over freely–NOT to the open world–but to whoever is nice enough to ask. They’ll thank you even before you can thank them.

This weekend I got asked five times by five different people what Miguel wants for his birthday. To those five people…I hope this list helps =)

  • Thomas the Train – Wooden Railway. Miggz has the basic (starter set) for this, which only recently has he started getting into. Right now he likes putting the track pieces together, like a puzzle. Some ideas are:

Thomas & Friends Wooden Railway – 8 Inch Ascending Track

Thomas and Friends Wooden Railway – Ascending Track Risers

Thomas & Friends Wooden Railway – 6 Inch Straight Track

  • He likes anything with Buzz Lightyear on it…shirts, shoes, toys. You name it! I know this because he always picks out his shirts with Buzz on to wear first. I think he also likes Woody but likes Buzz better.
  • He likes fire engines. He likes to say “fire engine” a LOT, and always plays with the two pieces he owns that are fire engines…a wooden block fire engine puzzle piece, and his Red the Fire Engine die-cast toy.
  • Little Einsteins! He LOVES the Little Einsteins…and would be thrilled if he got ROCKET for his birthday. I wish they sold these in stores. I was able to find him a Rocket toy on Amazon, one he can play with in the bath. I hope he likes it…
  • He likes toy cars/trucks/buses where you can open the doors, windows and trunks for him to store smaller toys in. I am having trouble finding one…if you find one, let me know!!!
  • Crayola Color Wonder Markers and Paper. Or even just the Paper.
  • Clothes/Shoes. He wears size 2 clothes now, and has a good number of size 2 shirts in his closet. I’d buy him size 3 clothes for future use, and just size 2 if they are shorts/summer clothes. For shoes he is just about ready to outgrow his size 6 shoes so size 7 for shoe-gifts.

As far as what WE want to get him, we are thinking one of those Radio Flyer trikes (and a helmet…LOL!)

If you have any other ideas on what we can get him…post away!!!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 23:17:06

    hehehe…thanks for the great ideas! Now we know what our inaanak will actually like. And what size he is! I’m a big believer in wish lists. 🙂 But you already know that.
    Believe it or not, for 3 weeks now I’ve had a blog post drafted titled “Mama’s wish list for Liel.”…hahaha…They’re things I want for her or I know that she will need soon.

    Reply

    • newmamma
      Aug 02, 2011 @ 11:53:11

      I want to see Liel’s wish list! Hurry up Mamma…her bday is coming up!! I’ve pre-bought a couple of things for her but I still want to see her wish list 😛

  2. joyce
    Aug 02, 2011 @ 19:44:09

    I guess I am one of the 5 people that asked for a list…lol wish list is soo much easier…

    Reply

  3. newmamma
    Aug 02, 2011 @ 20:22:52

    Yup mare…you were one of them 🙂

    The short list I emailed you inspired this blog post.

    Reply

Comment on this post

