Rejuvenation Proclamation

Two months ago, in early June I got to get away with my awesome girlfriends from New Jersey. I met up with fellow New Mammas Cathy, Jen and Relenie, along with Rachel and Joyce (all godmothers to Miguel) in Cabo San Lucas, at the Riu Santa Fe Resort. It was such a chill vacation…a well-deserved break that allowed us six to re-connect, relax and rejuvenate.

It was the first time I was flying all by myself, and the first time I was leaving Miggz and his Dad behind. Needless to say, I was a bit apprehensive. For the impending lonesome travel. For being in a different country than my son and hubby. But I was super excited too!! It’s been months since I last saw my girls, and I so needed this vacation. For my sake and my sanity.

I travelled from Phoenix to LAX, then LAX to San Jose del Cabo going there. Coming back I did San Jose to San Diego, then San Diego to Phoenix. It was weird having to stop over airports that are fairly close to Phoenix airport-wise. The lowest fare I could find gave me layovers that are at least three hours each. I didn’t mind it though. Time flew by at the airports quicker than I had expected. What felt even weirder for me was traveling without a stroller and a baby, going to the ladies’ room not for a toddler diaper change, but to freshen up (imagine that!), and having luggage that is loads and loads lighter than what I’ve gotten accustomed to carrying around in the past two years. Travel was such a breeze sans diaper bag/milk bottle cooler/baby toys, and I’ve forgotten what that felt like.

All a girl needs for long lay-overs: a book, a mag, an iPhone, and some chocolate!

Our days in Cabo didn’t disappoint. It was four glorious days of girls bonding with the sun, the sand and the sea. We had no one but each other to share the toils and triumphs of our current lives. To say we had fun would be an understatement.

We had a blast.

I’ll let the photos tell the story of our time in Cabo…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This was all my luggage coming home…a carry-on suitcase, my LV Palermo, and a little blue present for Miguel. In my heart and mind though are many wonderful memories shared with these girls, and I cannot wait for our next getaway.

Wherever, whenever that may be.

My luggage was light, my heart and mind full of many wonderful memories from Cabo.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen
    Aug 07, 2011 @ 22:41:03

    awesome post…! I miss you girls and Cabo!
    Thanks for posting pictures!

    How did you do the slideshow? Is that the one that comes with wordpress?
    Have you used up all the free space that comes with WP?

    Reply

    • newmamma
      Aug 08, 2011 @ 19:10:54

      Hi Mars…yep this is the wordpress slideshow. I think I’ve used up almost half of the free space.

      I do miss Cabo a LOT! Time to talk about (and plan for) our next trip. Whenever, wherever that may be =)

Comment on this post

