The Play Room that is Now (Finally) a Sleep-and-Play Room

Miguel’s room has been set up for almost a year now. It’s been decorated since we moved–one of my favorite projects shortly after taking on mommy-hood full-time.

Up until recently, the room has been JUST a play room–despite the presence of both crib and bed. Last month I finally took it upon myself to buy a toddler bed rail so we can train him to sleep on his own bed instead of in our cozy and comfy, but fit-for-only-two-people bed.

Also because his crib is cute but useless.

And because his bed is THREE twin mattress tiers tall.

All I can say is…what wonder has that bed rail done!

It might have saved our marriage actually.

I have a lot of respect–and give a lot of props–to parents who co-sleep with their kids. That thing is just not for me, at least not for the long haul. I’ve succumbed to co-sleeping for close to two years, because, as a former co-worker put it, it was the path to least resistance…the easiest way to make a baby–OUR baby–fall into sweet slumber in his pre-one-year-old days. From 0-6 months it was in his bassinet. After that, it was on our bed. Have I mentioned his crib was useless??

You can see my joy then, when–once I’ve set up the toddler bed rail–Miguel just fell asleep, and STAYED asleep, in his bed. HIS bed!

I never thought I’d see the day.

So now his play room is finally a sleep-and-play room.

And that’s exactly just the way I want it.

________________________

Here are some photos of his room…

A shot of his bedside area.

View of the top of his bed.

See how tall his bed is!

The bed rail installed.

This bed rail was not my first choice (due to the stark white color…too reminiscent of a hospital bed), but I picked it because it has a “hideaway” feature, it was reasonably priced ($27 on Amazon.com), and it came as a pair, which means BOTH sides of the bed can be safe if we choose to move it away from the wall. I was able to install it myself, and it’s pretty sturdy.

I will post more pictures of Miguel’s room in a separate blog entry entitled “Must-have Elements in a Toddler Room.”

Stay tuned!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. joyce
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 19:55:06

    Yay!!! Good job mare… you’re def meeting your goals… that’s a pretty big bed…

    Reply

  2. Jen
    Sep 10, 2011 @ 16:16:09

    So you accomplished your goals, supermom!!!

    Reply

    • newmamma
      Sep 10, 2011 @ 18:15:17

      I wish! We need more supermom (and superdad) powers for potty training and weaning him off the bottle. I’m glad we did get the ball rolling last month…it turns out ready na sya. But we need to stay focused and dedicated. They are definitely not an overnight type of process.

Comment on this post

