Travel Log: Our Philippine Homecoming…(Almost) One Year Later, Starting with FOOD!

I miss traveling.

It has been almost one year since Terrence and I, along with Miguel, went home to the Philippines. We were there from November 27, 2010 to February 12, 2011–a full two-and-a-half months! I knew once that trip was over it would be a while before the three of us can travel that way again. I promised I would blog about our escapades while we were there, and here I am–many months after coming home–with only a few posts about our trip instead of the detailed renderings that I wanted to write about.

I guess you can say that, with so many things we did while we were away, I just didn’t know where to start.

I browse iPhoto for the hundreds of pictures that we took, and I decide to break my blog recollections down into these categories: Food, Fun, Family, and Friends.

And so I start with FOOD.

The food trips that came with our Philippine travel can be summed up into a couple of thoughts: a revisiting of familiar tastes we missed for the past 15+ years, as well as an introduction to the many new eateries, carinderias, restaurants, fast-food joints and cafes that opened up while we were gone.

It was fun having Miguel along with us on this journey. Someday I hope he’ll remember this trip (if only through this blog!) and recall how much he just LOVES sipping fresh mango shake, having his first taste of sorbetes (a.k.a. “dirty” ice cream), and eating Vivian’s tapsilog at the crack of dawn in Lola’s bedroom.

Below is a food & drink slideshow, not to be watched on an empty stomach…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Be on the lookout for related Philippine Travel Log posts on Fun, Family and Friends!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 22:57:28

    Love all the food!!! The mango juice – yummy! And who couldn’t use more of tapsilog in their life? lol…

    Reply

    • newmamma
      Oct 10, 2011 @ 16:56:04

      We can eat tapsilog THAT good every single day. I just realized I didn’t put a picture of taho. We have it in our photos somewhere…

  2. joyce
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 06:40:17

    the food looks yummy.. that could be one of the reasons i would go home besides going to resorts and shopping lol..

    Reply

Comment on this post

