A Step-up from my Previous Doctor’s Office

The Lobby of Drs. Goodman & Partridge, Mesa Location

It’s been a year-and-a-half since we moved and only now have I finally brought myself up to looking for a doctor’s office for my (future) OB and (routine) GYN needs. So far, my first visit experience at Drs. Goodman & Partridge in Mesa has been pleasant…a far cry from my OB-GYN visits with my former New Jersey doctor (crowded offices, an-hour-and-a-half-PLUS waits…just dreadful now that I look back on all those pre-natal check-ups). This first experience has been nice…coming into a well-decorated and well-appointed office (with a world-travel theme), I couldn’t help but feel nice, comfortable, welcomed. I have high expectations and hope future visits are as nice.

Searching for an ideal doctor for your needs is not an easy feat–for myself and Miguel. I was very sad to have left Miguel’s super awesome pediatrician–Dr. John Gabriel–in New Jersey. He and his wife were just the most caring practitioner and office administrator we’ve ever come across with, and I am glad we had him as PCP for Miguel’s first year when doctor visits were frequent and necessary. Miguel’s doctor now is pretty cool too, but we’ve had such a great first pedia experience that it’s sort of hard to find someone who can compare or “live up” to the care we’ve expected. I guess we’ll see if we come across a better one in the future, should our needs change. For now, Miguel’s doctor is meeting our needs.

So HOW do you go about searching for a new doctor? Of course, recommendations are a given. But what else do you consider high on the list of doctor (and doctor office) traits? For me, friendliness and attitude rank high up there…and trust me, not all doctors (and doctor office staff) are friendly. The overall “vibe” of their office is also pretty important to me.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 20:46:33

    In choosing a doctor, ako first whatever’s included in my insurance plan. Second I check for Yelp reviews. Of course, I hope they are friendly.

    Reply

    • NewMamma
      Jan 23, 2012 @ 21:49:51

      Yelp reviews!! I have not tried that for doc searching, but will do now! I do look at patient reviews through googling the doctors’ names and typing “reviews” along with it.

      On another note, I HAVE Yelped possible daycare providers in the area, but didn’t see enough reviewer insight to get drawn to one place. The place where Aileen takes Jolie (based on their recommendation) is a possible good contender though (for when we are ready and need to put Miggz in daycare).

Comment on this post

