DIY Not?

This is the first time in ages that I’ve done a DIY project, thanks to the endless inspiration on Pinterest.

I really wanted to build upon what I’ve started in my son’s safari-themed room, and the recent catalog I got in the mail from Pottery Barn Kids gave me lots of ideas for things to add.

But PBK stuff is pricey!

Take, for instance, this “Explore” Garland, which I thought was perfect for the whole travel/safari/outdoor/adventure theme we have going in the room…

Explore Garland - Pottery Barn Kids

It defines Miggz and our family’s love for adventure. Too bad it’s $20 (which I was so close to ordering had I not given it a second look, and thought… “I could SO do this!!!”)

And I did…

My handmade "explore" garland - almost done.

It was real easy.

First I cut out the backboards from an Amazon shipping box that was waiting to be recycled.

Then I printed the animal shapes (in beige) directly from my computer onto plain copy paper. (You can download, free for personal use, some animal-shaped fonts from dafont.com).

Next, I printed the EXPLORE letters (in green). I printed these on glossy photo paper to let them pop and not make the whole thing look flat, as in my inspiration from PBK.

Then–the most time-consuming part–just cut out the animals and letters and glue them on (I had some extra animal cut-outs and cardboard, which I will find somewhere to affix to later on).

I’m really pleased with the job I did…it looks so close to the original!!

The only thing I have left to do is to put holes on the cardboard (which irks me right now because I can’t find my hole puncher), and hang the finished product.

Pretty neat, huh!

Honestly, for the time it took me to do this, I probably should have just bought the garland from PBK.

But it feels GREAT to have created something by hand for my son’s room.

And I saved the planet by re-purposing that Amazon box 😉

Update this evening:

I still couldn’t find my craft hole puncher, so I used the one dad has in his office. I had to reinforce the hanging cardboards, and decided that some clothespins would work best.

I hung the “explore” garland on Miguel’s window, which is right by his bed.

And I did not forget about the leftover cardboard and animal cutouts…I used them to add character to some plain old storage bins underneath the changing table.

I just love how these turned out!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Safari inspired decorations & DIY dessert stands « lvbaby
  2. lvbaby
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 21:45:44

    I loved this project of yours, and decided to try making one! Thanks for the inspiration!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Moms Inspiring Moms « New Mamma Diaries
  4. Trackback: Hobby Lobby « New Mamma Diaries
  5. Laurel
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:06:01

    Oh this looks just the same, great job for doing it yourself!! Banners are fun to make. Super!!

    Reply

Comment on this post

