Easy Macaroni Leek Soup

I woke up today inspired by two soup postings: Le Zoe Musings’ {Pho} Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup, and Miss Lara Patricia Yap’s Hearty Macaroni Soup (via Facebook).

No way, no how am I making Pho. As easy as it’s been described in Le Zoe Musings, I simply don’t have four hours to labor over it. I don’t know…ever since I became a Mom, the cook-wannabe in me has decided to take an extended leave of absence. These days, I prefer quick and easy meals with LOTS of short-cuts instead.

But I am saving her Pho instructions for future use, perhaps in another time and another place (meaning my own kitchen and not my Mom’s).

Now, the Macaroni Soup, I can do. I’ve cooked it many times before…

Miss Lara’s version has chicken, bacon, hotdogs, celery, carrots and cabbage, then topped with croutons and cheese. I’ve never had it with croutons and cheese, so those alone inspired me to make soup today.

My problem…I don’t have all the ingredients. I have cheese but no croutons, hotdogs but no bacon, chicken but no celery and cabbage. I do have a bag of frozen veggies with carrots, peas, and corn…and that’s what I decided to use in place of the veggies in Miss Lara’s dish.

{Being a Mom has made me THE queen in Improvisation}

Lacking some greens, I decided to rummage through our spice and Knorr packets in the pantry. I find two packets for Knorr Leek Soup Mix (I have been wanting to make potato leek soup…my fave comfort food from my college dorm days–they served really good potato leek soup at the dining halls).

The Potato Leek Soup will have to wait…I decide to use the two packets of Knorr Leek Soup Mix for my macaroni soup instead.

Here’s how to make my SUPER Easy Macaroni Leek Soup:

Step 1 – Boil three to four cups of water

Step 2 – Add the macaroni.

1/2 cup of macaroni is plenty…after all, you’re making soup and not salad or a pasta dish.

I add a little salt and olive oil to the boiling pot, just so the macaroni don’t stick to each other.

Step 3 – After 15 minutes of the pasta boiling, I add the two Knorr Leek Soup Mix packets (I started with just one, but the stock lacked flavor, so I added a second one).

All the flavor you need for this soup are in the packets (read the ingredients). You really don’t need to add anything else. The leeks in the packets add the green component to my soup.

Step 4 – Once the powdered broth dissolves, I add the soup’s “chunky” components…chopped “Grilled and Ready” chicken breast, onions, and hotdogs.

For those weirded out with having chopped hotdogs in soup, I totally get you, so feel free to leave those out. For me, it’s a must in “sopas”…it just brings back wonderful memories of Mom cooking soup for us when we were kids. I don’t know…the hotdogs in the soup must be a Filipino Mom-thing.

With all the ingredients added in, the soup might come off a little salty. That’s when a little milk comes in…

Step 5 – I actually don’t add all this milk. Just stir in a little at a time to suit your taste. I think I’ve only added 1/4 cup of 1% milk total (I would have preferred whole milk for a heartier taste and texture, but 1% is all we had…)

Also, I actually did not end up adding the frozen vegetables (which I planned on adding to the soup at the end).

The soup looked and tasted good without the added veggies.

Here’s the finished product. I decide to top it off with powdered Parmesan instead of shredded cheese. Some might also like it with a dash of fresh ground pepper…

The BEST part…my picky eater loved it, too!!

What’s NOT to love??? It has HOTDOGS and PASTA after all!!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen
    Mar 02, 2012 @ 20:43:36

    looks yummy…i’ll have to keep in mind to get soup packets like these…since I need easy dinner stuff! thank you!

    Reply

    • NewMamma
      Mar 07, 2012 @ 00:57:05

      You’re welcome, mare! I have to buy more of those leek soup mix packets myself. Can’t wait to try the actual potato leek recipe…now that we actually have potatoes!!

Comment on this post

